Nov 17 2011
PhotoStream is a major part of the iCloud suit by Apple. PhotoStream provides a very simple functionality which is to sync whatever photos you take on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch and simply keep them in sync with every iOS Device, Mac or a PC.
However, Photo Stream comes with some serious limitations.
The 1st being only the last 1000 pictures will be stored on your iCloud account. This limitation is sort of ok, considering the sheer amount of people going to use Apple’s services plus the fact that all the previous picture will be stored locally on your device or computer.
The 2nd and the most annoying is that you just cannot delete individual pictures from PhotoStream.
This is will annoy a lot people. I personally hate the fact that I’m not able to delete that embarrassing picture I took. This is a serious privacy issue which I honestly hope Apple will fix asap.
The only solution is to delete your entire PhotoStream library. Follow these steps to delete it:
- From a computer browser, go to icloud.com and sign in.
- Click on your name on the iCloud home page (this is the page that shows all the app icons). If you do not see your name, click the cloud icon in the top left of the page.
- Click Advanced.
- Here you will see the Reset Photo Stream button. Clicking this button will remove all your Photo Stream photos from iCloud. Once removed, they cannot be recovered, but you can re-upload any photos you’d like to restore to your Photo Stream from a Mac or PC.
After resetting your Photo Stream, you can also remove any photos that have been downloaded to your device or computers. To do this, follow the directions below:
- On your iOS device, you can remove photos from the Photo Stream view by turning off Photo Stream and then optionally turning it back on. You can do this at Settings > iCloud > Photo Stream.If you added any Photo Stream photos to other albums or the Camera Roll on your iOS device, you can locate and delete these photos manually, if desired.
- On your Mac, you can clear cached photos from the Photo Stream view in iPhoto or Aperture by turning off Photo Stream and then optionally turning it back on. You can do this in each application by visiting Preferences > Photo Stream.If you had Automatic Import enabled in your Photo Stream settings, your Photo Stream photos were also imported to your iPhoto or Aperture Library, and will remain after you disable Photo Stream. If you would like to delete any of these photos from your library, you can to do so manually any time you like.
- On your PC, you can remove Photo Stream photos by deleting them from your designated Photo Stream Download Folder. By default, this folder is located at C:\Users\Apple\Pictures\Photo Stream\My Photo Stream.